Surrey Hills Race, 9 June 2019

Organised by South London Orienteers
under FRA regulations
Hall of Fame

Enter Online


Get off the roads and try the trails this summer! The Surrey Hills race will take you along the footpaths and up the hills of the beautiful Surrey Hill. It provides an enjoyable challenge to all types of runners, orienteers and adventure racers. All races are mass start; run on your own or with friends. Courses do require navigation and require visiting some checkpoints, such as at the top of Leith Hill (on the ‘A’ and ‘B’ courses.)  A purpose-drawn map at 1:25:000 is provided to all competitors.

2019 is the fortieth year of these races.


Pre-entry is open online through Fabian4. It costs £8 for seniors and £4 for students and juniors. Entry on the Day will be possible subject to map availability, at £10 for seniors and £5 for students and juniors. The event uses Sportident electronic punching. If you don’t have an SI dibber of your own, we will lend you one.

Courses and Start Times

A 30 km / 18 miles 10:30
B 16 km / 10 miles 10:45
C 10 km / 6 miles 10:35
All courses require navigation. We have a cut-off time at the second water station on the 30km long course. This is 1km before control #7 (at the Duke of Kent School.) The cut-off is midday, an hour and a half after the start. We’ll drive any runners arriving after this time back to the race centre.

Race Centre

Registration will be from 9:30am at The Priory School, West Bank, Dorking, Surrey RH4 3DG.
AddressThe Priory School, West Bank, Dorking, Surrey RH4 3DG
Latitude/longitude51.2269, -0.3433
OS grid referenceTQ158488
MapsGoogle Maps, OpenStreetMap
Changing, toilets, showers (rebuilt this year) and supervised bag storage are at the school.

Travel Directions

The race centre is easily accessible by both car and public transport. By car head into Dorking and follow signs to the parking area. Public transport is excellent to the race, with trains to Dorking taking an hour from London Waterloo and Victoria, or to Dorking Deepdene from Reading. From the station, it’s a half an hour walk to the race centre where there is changing, toilets and bag storage.


Trophies are awarded in memory of Byron Davies and Kate Thomas to the winner of the ‘A’ course and to the first lady on the ‘A’ course respectively. The Michael Murray trophy is awarded to the winner of the ‘B’ course. There are also trophies for the ‘C’ course and for the first lady on the ‘B’ course. Also Age Class prizes.


Results are published on the SLOW website shortly after the event.

FRA rules

Under-18s may not run courses A or B. Unfortunately no under-16s can be accepted. There is a limit of 100 runners in each race. Competitors take part at their own risk and are responsible for their own safety, and are required to sign a disclaimer to this effect on the entry form.

Race Map

You can view the map on Routegadget.